Just Me and My Camera and Other Things Thrown in the Mix

Tones of Grey!!Why

My new project is going to be Black & White photography! no I’m not going through a depressed time at the moment, this I think will help me find my artistic, story telling side to grow.

I’ve been looking at YouTube Videos “How to see in Black and white” it really does make you focus on the subject, what will make a good image. Yes you can make it easy by changing the setting to monochrome on your camera, but it makes for a very flat image as there won’t be the many tones of grey needed to make an dramatic image.

I’ve not been one to use in camera RAW, my take on it depends what you want to do with your photos, I’ve always been happy to shoot JPEG, let the camera make the photo.

Since selling all my Canon gear and going over to Olympus Mirrorless, the weight difference was one of the factors but the JPEGS from the cameras are outstanding.

Having said that today I changed the camera to RAW+JPEG best of both worlds, shot all the photos in colour, you need to do this so the camera takes in the colour information that’s where the tones of grey can then be brought out in the RAW file.

First a full colour photo, this image is straight out of the camera I only cropped it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Colours are good, it’s an OK photo of Attingham Park the house front

Now compere to the Black & White image.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everyone has their own interpretation of all things

I see the lady walking her dog, shame she didn’t have a black dog but you can make out the dog more on the B&W image, look at the tones on the windows, shapes, contrast the clouds show up more.

The full set of images in B&W are on my Flickr page-

Tones of Grey (1)

Thanks for passing by

Jan

 

Leave a Reply

